The Nieuwezijdskolk is a square in the center of Amsterdam, which is adjacent to the Damrak. It is through Kolksteeg associated with Nieuwendijk.Op the square is the built in 1620 for the Guild of grain traders, Koren Meter Cottage. It is one of the few houses in Amsterdam guild that has been preserved.
The Nieuwezijdskolk is probably the oldest part inhabited area of the city. The archaeological excavations have been conducted here yielded important information about the early history of Amsterdam. In 1994 and 1999 remains were found in a walled fortification from the 13th century, possibly the castle of the Lords of Amstel, and remnants of early 13th-century houses and workshops of artisans. Also in subsequent work they found remains of early 13th-century wall work here.
At the corner of Nwz. Kolk and Boerenwetering built the first windmill in Amsterdam in 1300. A portion was filled in the late 15th century and used as a cattle market. From 1542 it was used as a loading and unloading vessels for beer, and there were lots of warehouses and trading houses. In 1884 this part of the Boerenwetering muted.
Despite the protests was the mid-nineties the Nieuwezijdskolk much demolished, and large-scale construction was realized as Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel and the now dismantled ‘De Kolk’ Shopping (architect Ben van Berkel).
Following a motion study in combination with existing features, the users on this site, are new sightlines and pedestrian routes introduced.
The starting point in the analysis and design of DEX is the preservation of the unique existing sites and introducing that promote awareness of users on this site. A new coherent set of factors
Intervals in this busy location will create tension, which moments as acceleration and deceleration will occur.
The whole complex of Kolk is demolished and taken its place: houses, theater, restaurants and a public indoor space. The route is a sequence of functions, with experience of the central location and the architecture state.Tweet